Big Thief
Big Thief - Product Shot
Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You
Big Thief Product Shot

Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You

Big Thief

11th Feburary, 2022

Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You is a sprawling double-LP exploring the deepest elements and possibilities of Big Thief.

To truly dig into all that the music of Adrianne Lenker, Max Oleartchik, Buck Meek, and James Krivchenia desired in 2020, the band decided to write and record a rambling account of growth as individuals, musicians, and chosen family over 4 distinct recording sessions. In Upstate New York, Topanga Canyon, The Rocky Mountains, and Tucson, Arizona, Big Thief spent 5 months in creation and came out with 45 completed songs. The most resonant of this material was edited down into the 20 tracks that make up DNWMIBIY, a fluid and adventurous listen.

The album was produced by drummer James Krivchenia who initially pitched the recording concept for DNWMIBIY back in late 2019 with the goal of encapsulating the many different aspects of Adrianne’s songwriting and the band onto a single record.

"A 20-song epic of kaleidoscopic invention, striking beauty, and wigged-out humor, rambling far beyond the bounds of their previous work."
- Pitchfork (9.0 - Best New Music)

"In a market saturated with arty folk rockers, Big Thief stand out not by doing things weirder, but by doing them better."
- The Independent *****

"This band can do anything."
- The Evening Standard *****

- The Sun *****

"Instantly satisfying, but its charms and mysteries will resound for years."
- Uncut (9/10)

"A towering achievement of music… a truly talismanc record that will live long in the memory for any who experience it."
- Clash (9/10)

"With Dragon… we glimpse Big Thief's magic in action… it's a lived experience, open-hearted and spontaneous, that pushes the boundaries of what the four, between them, can create."
- Loud And Quiet (9/10)

"This is unfussy music born of friendship, conviviality, good times. And it is utterly charming."
- The Times **** (Album of the Week)