4AD home

Dead Can Dance - All 4AD Albums Finally Back In Print On Vinyl
Dead Can Dance : All 4AD Albums Finally Back In Print On Vinyl
11th January 2017

Having last year reissued six of the nine albums Dead Can Dance released on 4AD, the remaining three are scheduled for release this March.  All vinyl represses, they are The Serpent’s Egg (1988), Aion (1990) and Spiritchaser (1996). Full details of each repress can be found below.

Being released on 17th March 2017, you can pre-order using the links below:
The Serpent’s Egg on LP here.
Pre-order Aion on LP here.
Pre-order Spiritchaser on 2xLP here.
You can pre-order all three LP releases as a discounted bundle here.

Dead Can Dance – The Serpent’s Egg
CAD 3638

Dead Can Dance’s fourth album came during a prolific period for the band, being released just four years after their debut.  It was also the first they made at their own studio which, according to Brendan Perry, allowed them to continue to “grow in their own self-proclaimed direction.”  A minimal yet rather grandiose record which includes fan favourites ‘The Host Of Seraphim’ and ‘Ullyses’, The Serpent’s Egg is a triumph and perhaps the finest example of where Brendan and Lisa’s diametrically different influences were overcome to form a new, almost synaesthetic whole.

A1. The Host Of Seraphim
A2. Orbis De Ignis
A3. Severance
A4. The Writing On My Father's Hand
A5. In The Kingdom Of The Blind The One-Eyed Are Kings

B1. Chant Of The Paladin
B2. Song Of Sophia
B3. Echolalia
B4. Mother Tongue
B5. Ullyses

Dead Can Dance – Aion
CAD 3639

With the industrial textures of their eponymous debut behind them, the fifth album from Dead Can Dance is perhaps their most focused and concise work. Predominately recorded at their own studio in Southern Ireland and featuring guest vocals from soprano David Navarro Sust to add to Brendan and Lisa’s opposing yet complimentary styles, the Middle Ages and the early Renaissance are a core influence; an atmosphere amplified by the album’s cover, a section from the Earth phase of Dutch painter Hieronymus Bosch's famed triptych, The Garden of Earthly Delights.

A1. The Arrival And The Reunion
A2. Saltarello
A3. Mephisto
A4. The Song Of The Sybil
A5. Fortune Presents Gifts Not According To The Book
A6. As The Bell Rings The Maypole Spins

B1. The End Of Words
B2. Black Sun
B3. Wilderness
B4. The Promised Womb
B5. The Garden Of Zephirus
B6. Radharc

Dead Can Dance – Spiritchaser
DAD 3637

Dead Can Dance’s seventh album, was released in 1996 and was the final studio album the band released with 4AD (it was to be another 16 years until they reconvened to make their eighth, Anastasis). Again recording at Brendan’s Quivvy Church in Ireland and as hinted at by the album’s title, the band had moved their focus away from the traditional medieval and Eastern sound of their middle albums to work with African and Caribbean tribal rhythms.

A1. Nierika
A2. Song Of The Stars

B1. Indus
B2. Song Of The Dispossessed
B3. Dedicacé Outò

C1. The Snake And The Moon
C2. Song Of The Nile

D1. Devorzhum