4AD home

Cocteau Twins - 'Four-Calendar Cafe' and 'Milk & Kisses' Reissues
Cocteau Twins : 'Four-Calendar Cafe' and 'Milk & Kisses' Reissues
12th January 2024

“The brilliance of Cocteau Twins is that they capture the lightness of dreams. Their pop sound is like they’ve dipped into your reveries and are playing them back to you.”
“Cocteau Twins make music to bask in. Edgeless guitar chords unfurl and billow above stately, imperturbable vamps.”
The New York Times
“A sound that would become the gold standard for enigmatic, ethereal indie-pop.”
The Guardian

Cocteau Twins by Pav Modelski

Today, Cocteau Twins announce they’ll be reissuing their final two albums, Four-Calendar Café (1993) and Milk & Kisses (1996), via 4AD in the US.

For the reissues, Robin Guthrie has returned to his original studio mixes and delivered stunning, brand new 24-bit masters of both titles.  These reissues mark the first ever official US vinyl release for both titles and also the first time either have been released by 4AD, with both having previously been released in the US on Capitol Records. 

These reissues will be available on black vinyl and CD from 12th January 2024 and are available for US customers to pre-order here.

Cocteau Twins - Four-Calendar Café Reissue

+ Buy Four-Calendar Café here

Turning 30 today, Four-Calendar Café was the first of two Cocteau Twins albums previously released via Capitol Records in the US.

Like most Cocteau Twins works before it, Four-Calendar Café was recorded and produced by the band, this time at their September Sound studio on the banks of the Thames in West London.  A beautiful yet bittersweet record featuring the singles 'Bluebeard', 'Evangeline' and 'Summerhead', the band manifest maturity and fragility in equal measure and while Liz’s lyrics remain cryptic, they’re more intelligible here.  Complete with a memorable design of inanimate objects by the I Spy children’s book creator Walter Wick, Four-Calendar Café still stands tall going into its fourth decade.

A1. Know Who You Are At Every Age
A2. Evangeline
A3. Bluebeard
A4. Theft, And Wandering Around Lost
A5. Oil Of Angels
B1. Squeeze-Wax
B2. My Truth
B3. Essence
B4. Summerhead
B5. Pur

Cocteau Twins - Milk & Kisses Reissue

+ Buy Milk & Kisses here

Milk & Kisses is the band’s eighth and final studio album, the second of two Cocteau Twins albums previously released via Capitol Records in the US.

A period of high creativity for the band, they recorded and produced Milk & Kisses between their September Sound studio in London and the coastal town of Pors Poulhan in Brittany, France.  Featuring the singles 'Tishbite' and 'Violaine' and fan favorites such as 'Serpentskirt' and 'Treasure Hiding', the album is a cathartic listen too with MOJO saying in a glowing review that the album’s title “accurately intimates its soothing, healing powers.”  Ultimately, Milk & Kisses proved their swan song, bringing the curtain down on 14 years of wonder to leave an incredible legacy that new generations continue to discover to this day.

A1. Violaine
A2. Serpentskirt
A3. Tishbite
A4. Half-Gifts
A5. Calfskin Smack
B1. Rilkean Heart
B2. Ups
B3. Eperdu
B4. Treasure Hiding
B5. Seekers Who Are Lovers