4AD home

Helado Negro - 'La Naranja'
Helado Negro : 'La Naranja'
29th September 2021

Helado Negro has released the new single ‘La Naranja’. The song is accompanied by an official video directed by Andrew Anderson.

Stream 'La Naranja' on all platforms here +

‘La Naranja’ is the third single to preview the new album Far In which will be released on 22 October. The song opens with long violin tones, joined by a creeping tea kettle frequency. Rather than a brutal jolt, at the point of contact, Roberto Lange’s voice gleefully bounces in to tell us that we will survive the end of the world. It’s possible to hear the world on fire and the abundant fruit of collective courage turning round at once. Supported by the grounding bassline of Taja Cheek (L’Rain), Roberto's faith in survival persists.

‘La Naranja’ follows the singles ‘Outside the Outside’ and ‘Gemini And Leo’ from Helado Negro's upcoming album Far In which will be released on 22 October. Far In is Helado Negro's first album on 4AD and the seventh full-length album in his catalogue. It follows his breakthrough 2019 release This Is How You Smile.

The first LP pre-orders of Far In from the 4AD Store will receive a limited print signed by Helado Negro +
Pre-save/pre-order the album, released 22nd October, on all formats here +

When Helado Negro began writing Far In immediately following the release of This is How You Smile, he could not have predicted that we would soon need to learn how to stay at home and be the stars of our domestic dance floors with intimates and online communities.  Roberto and his partner, the visual artist Kristi Sword, had planned to visit Marfa, Texas for an early 2020 residency to work on their collaborative project.  Once the pandemic hit, they decided to stay in Marfa through the summer, inspiring Roberto to write a significant amount of songs on the upcoming album. 
Escape is never out there, you have to go inward,” Roberto reflects on developing an epic Helado Negro double album during these extraordinary times.  Heavy, pulsing, rhythms drive 'Aureole' through a dystopian landscape, but as he sings of endless psychological restrictions, the shimmering radiance of expanded realms bursts through.  This chiaroscuro effect suggests a path that isn’t tuning out beneath monumental forces and anxieties, but embracing the dark of the unknown with openness, pleasure, and growth.

Helado Negro - Far In

1. Wake Up Tomorrow (ft. Kacy Hill)
2. Gemini and Leo
3. Purple Tones
4. There Must Be A Song Like You
5. Aguas Frías
6. Aureole
7. Hometown Dream
8. Agosto (ft. Buscabulla)
9. Outside the Outside
10. Brown Fluorescence
11. Wind Conversations
12. Thank You For Ever
13. La Naranja 
14. Telescope (ft. Benamin)
15. Mirror Talk