4AD home

Erika de Casier - New Album 'Sensational' Out 21st May
Erika de Casier : New Album 'Sensational' Out 21st May
13th April 2021

Copenhagen-based songwriter and producer Erika de Casier has announced details of her second full-length studio album.  

Sensational, which includes recent singles ‘No Butterflies, No Nothing’ and ‘Drama’, will be released on 21st May 2021.

Today, she releases another preview from Sensational; the anti-bad boy tune ‘Polite’.

‘Polite’ was inspired by a nightmare date where her dining partner was rude to the waiter and only spoke about himself.  Thinking she should walk out of the restaurant or confront his impoliteness, she sat there being nice.  The song lays out what de Casier wishes she’d said to him if she could replay the scene: “You gotta have some manners if you wanna roll with me”.  Also released today is the official video for ‘Polite’, directed by de Casier.

+ Stream the new single ‘Polite’ here +

Sensational expands the universe of de Casier’s 2019 self-released debut album Essentials.  Where Essentials dealt more with the infatuation stages of love, Sensational has more of an attitude, aiming to dismantle the stereotype of single women looking for love, tackling relationship dramas and the toxicity of dating. It was a chance to rewrite scenarios in ways that empowered her, fantasising about what could’ve been.  Essentials was produced by de Casier and Natal Zeks and is a breath of fresh air to anyone with a passion for music in all its genres, as much influenced by Aaliyah and Janet Jackson as house, garage and techno.  With hushed, pillow-soft vocals and production that references turn-of-the-millenium sounds, de Casier’s sound surveys the past while looking to the future.

+ Pre-order on clear vinyl and CD, released 23rd July, via the 4AD Store here +
+ Pre-save the album on streaming services, released 21st May, here +

Erika de Casier – Sensational
1. Drama
2. Polite
3. Make My Day
4. All You Talk About
5. Insult Me
6. No Butterflies, No Nothing
7. Someone To Chill With
8. Acceptance (intermezzo)
9. Better Than That
10. Friendly
11. Secretly
12. Busy
13. Call Me Anytime

Born in Portugal to Belgian and Cape Verdean parents and raised in Denmark, Erika de Casier initially made her mark as an ally of the Regelbau collective (home to Danish house acts DJ Sports, C.K and Central) before writing, co-producing and releasing debut album, Essentials, through her own Independent Jeep label.  Her take on 90s/00s R&B became a slow-burn success story and Essentials graced Best of 2019 lists at Mixmag, Gorilla vs. Bear, FACT, Dummy, and Crack Magazine.

Erika de Casier

Erika has also detailed a run of European headline shows, and festival appearances, scheduled for later this year.  

19th - 21st - We Out Here Festival, UK

5th - Kala Festival, Dhermi, Albania

9th - Wigfex City Festival, Nottingham, UK 
29th - Vega, Copenhagen, Denmark

4th - Voxhall, Aarhus, Denmark
11th - Scala, London, UK
13th - YES, Manchester, UK
17th - Le Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
18th - Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam, Netherlands
23rd - Meetfactory, Prague, Czech Republic