4AD home

Efterklang - Efterklang to release The Piramida Concert live album
Efterklang : Efterklang to release The Piramida Concert live album
14th May 2013

When Efterklang presented their fourth album, Piramida, for the first time to a sold out audience at the Sydney Opera House with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra last year, the evening’s success gave the Danish act the opportunity to take this unique performance around the globe. Dubbed The Piramida Concerts, and with orchestral arrangements by fellow Dane Karsten Fundal and New York composer Missy Mazzoli, it has been staged fifteen times, with sold out performances at London’s Barbican with the Northern Sinfonia and New York’s Metropolitan Museum concert hall with The Wordless Music Orchestra.

Although cut from the same cloth, The Piramida Concerts differ from Piramida and, keen to present this other side, Efterklang decided to commit one of the performances to tape. Fittingly they chose the concert they played in their native Copenhagen, and this summer it will be released as a deluxe vinyl package.

The Piramida Concert by Efterklang & Copenhagen Phil was recorded live at Copenhagen's Royal Academy of Music Concert Hall in October 2012. Over the course of two sold-out nights Efterklang - plus Peter Broderick, Katinka Fogh Vindelev and Budgie (Siouxsie and The Banshees) - teamed up with the 33-strong Copenhagen Phil orchestra and German conductor André de Ridder to perform the Danish act's fourth album Piramida in its entirety. The live performance also includes 'So', a song written during recording sessions for Piramida, and 'Vælv', a classical piece commissioned by the band and composed by Karsten Fundal.

The Piramida Concert will only be available digitally and as a limited edition deluxe double gatefold vinyl (one black, one white + CD inside), designed by Danish artists Hvass&Hannibal. It will be released on June 10th. Listen to 'The Living Layer + Vælv' below.

Efterklang’s final performance of The Piramida Concert will take place on May 29th at the Bergen Festpillene in Norway. They will play alongside Kringkastinsorkesteret, conducted by Hans Ek. The band will tour in their six-piece live guise throughout the summer. For a full list of dates, head here.

Efterklang with Copenhagen Phil – The Piramida Concert
1. Hollow Mountain
2. Apples?
3. Sedna
4. Told To Be Fine?
5. The Living Layer + Vælv
6. The Ghost?
7. Black Summer?
8. Between The Walls?
9. So?
10. Monument