4AD home

Brendan Perry - 'Eye of the Hunter' Reissue Out Now
Brendan Perry : 'Eye of the Hunter' Reissue Out Now
20th October 2023

Today, Brendan Perry releases the reissue of his 1999 album, Eye of the Hunter, expanded for its first ever repress to now include a bonus live album Live at the I.C.A., recorded during 4AD’s infamous 13 Year Itch residency at the storied London venue in 1993.

Order Eye of the Hunter / Live at the I.C.A. on light green and light blue transparent vinyl and CD +

“Perry's first solo effort is a mature work worthy of his reputation.
All Music

“Weeping strings and mournful slide guitars snuggle against Perry’s blissful brushed-velvet voice.”
Entertainment Weekly

“Blessed with snatches of delusional brilliance.”

Some fifteen years after Dead Can Dance’s self-titled debut, Brendan Perry first stepped out on his own in 1999 with the wondrous eight track album, Eye of the Hunter

Having mutually disbanded Dead Can Dance so he and Lisa Gerrard could focus on their own material (a hiatus that would last seven years between playing live shows and sixteen between making albums), Brendan’s debut built on his renown as a solo performer, having often played just he and an acoustic guitar during his band’s otherworldly live shows. Indeed, Dead Can Dance’s first official live album, 1994’s Toward The Within, captures just this with three Brendan solo tracks helping to set the scene for what came next.

Recorded at Brendan's Quivvy Church studio in County Cavan in Ireland and backed by the band of Liam Bradley (drums), Glen Garrett (bass guitar) and Martin Quinn (pedal steel), Brendan performs the guitar, a 12-string guitar, mandolin and keys to achieve a rich, gothic sound while the album’s incredible production elevates his vocals to Scott Walker and Tim Buckley levels of delivery; two clear influences, the latter’s ‘I Must Have Been Blind Here’ is thoughtfully covered here.

Listen to ‘Happy Time (Live at the I.C.A.)’ +

A record that has been out of print on vinyl since its release in 1999, people have been asking for it to be repressed for long enough. Having been mastered at Abbey Road, fans will be delighted to hear that not only is Eye of the Hunter finally being reissued but that it’s also been expanded to include Live at the I.C.A. The single ‘Happy Time (Live at the I.C.A.)’, a Tim Buckley cover, is released today from the latter. A true collectible, this extra album has previously only been available on a rare as hen’s teeth promotional cassette, recorded during 4AD’s infamous 13 Year Itch residency at London’s Institute of Contemporary Arts in 1993. Chris Bigg’s fantastic art remains front and centre, upgraded to a gatefold sleeve for the LP with the coloured vinyl matching the album’s palette (Eye of the Hunter on transparent teal and Live at the I.C.A. on seafoam green). The reissue will also be available on CD. Signed vinyl copies will be available exclusively at the 4AD webstore.

Brendan Perry
Eye of the Hunter / Live at the I.C.A 
October 20, 2023

Eye of the Hunter
A1. Saturday’s Child 
A2. Voyage of Bran 
A3. Medusa 
A4. Sloth 

B1. I Must Have Been Blind 
B2. Captive Heart 
B3. Death Will Be My Bride 
B4. Archangel

Live at The I.C.A.
C1. Alone / American Dreaming 
C2. Sarabande 
C3. Sloth

D1. Chase The Blues 
D2. Captive Heart 
D3. Happy Time 
D4. Don’t Fade Away