4AD home

Bon Iver - Bon Iver Releases New Album Today
Bon Iver : Bon Iver Releases New Album Today
20th June 2011

“Bon Iver possesses all of the austere beauty and understated emotiveness of it’s predecessor” - 5/5 Uncut
“Flawless right up to its conclusion”9.5 Pitchfork, Best New Music
“If his last album struck a chord, this one strikes dozens” - 5/5 Time Out
“5/5” - The Sun
“Bon Iver remains rooted in the emotional sincerity that made Vernon’s debut so mesmerizing” - 5/5 The Independent
“Our love intensifies” - 5/5 The Guardian
"5/5" - Evening Standard

Today sees the release of Bon Iver’s second album, Bon Iver, Bon Iver. Featuring ten new songs penned by Justin Vernon, the album expands the group's sonic palette beyond the rustic acoustics of the debut. A lush landscape of silky electric guitars, intricate keys, and subtle horn and string sections, Bon Iver, Bon Iver retains the ghost choirs and densely layered vocals intact that Bon Iver is widely celebrated for.

Painstakingly crafted over three years, the album was recorded and mixed at April Base Studios, a former veterinarian's clinic in Fall Creek, WI, converted into a recording studio by Vernon and his brother. Bon Iver regulars Sean Carey, Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan contributed vocals, drums and production; Rob Moose (Antony and the Johnsons, The National) helped with arranging and strings; and Jim Schoenecker and Tom Wincek provided processing. The album also features the pedal steel of Greg Leisz (Lucinda Williams, Bill Frisell) and a horn section including Colin Stetson (Tom Waits, Arcade Fire), Mike Lewis (Andrew Bird, Happy Apple), and C.J. Camerieri (Rufus Wainwright, Sufjan Stevens).

Buy iTunes
Buy Amazon
Buy Rough Trade

Bon Iver have also confirmed their first UK and European tour dates since 2009. For the shows, Justin Vernon will perform with an 8-piece band that includes many musicians who contributed to the new record. The touring band will consist of regular Bon Iver contributors Sean Carey (drums, piano), Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan as well as Rob Moose on violin and guitar Mike Lewis on bass and a horn section including Reginald Pace, Colin Stetson, and C.J. Camerieri. Below is a full list of dates

19th - 02 Apollo, Manchester
20th - The Canal Theatre, Dublin
22nd - Usher Hall, Edinburgh
24th - Hammersmith HMV Apollo, London
26th - MCV, Utrecht
27th - AB, Brussels
29th - La Trianon, Paris
30th - E-Werk, Koln
1st - Columiahalle, Berlin
3rd - Sentrum Scene, Oslo
4th - Munchen Bryggeriet, Stockholm
5th - Falkoner, Copenhagen
6th - Docks, Hamburg
9th - O2 Academy, Birmingham
10th - O2 Academy, Leeds
11th - Colston Hall, Bristol

Watch below the video for the first single to be lifted from the album, ‘Calgary’.