4AD home

The Lemon Twigs - New Album 'Songs For The General Public' Out Now
The Lemon Twigs : New Album 'Songs For The General Public' Out Now
21st August 2020

The Lemon Twigs' third full-length album Songs For The General Public is out today.

It features previous singles ‘No One Holds You (Closer Than The One You Haven’t Met)’, ‘Live In Favor Of Tomorrow’, ‘Moon’ and ‘The One’.  The D’Addario brothers wrote, recorded and produced the record entirely on tape at their Long Island home studio and Sonora Studios in Los Angeles.

You can buy Songs for the General Public on limited vinyl from 4AD Store here +
+ Buy and stream on the platform of your choice here +
Check to see if your local record store is stocking Songs for the General Public here +

Brian and Michael D’Addario first emerged as The Lemon Twigs in 2016 with their debut LP Do Hollywood, whose showstopping melodies mined from every era of rock quickly earned fans in Elton John, Questlove, and Jack Antonoff.  Go To School, the ambitious 15-track coming-of-age opus, followed in 2018 and solidified the band’s reputation for building grand walls of sound around an audacious concept.

On Tuesday night The Lemon Twigs made the worldwide debut of their song ‘Hell On Wheels’ live on US TV show Late Night With Seth Meyers.  The intimate performance, shot in a Midtown, NY loft, is transportive and timeless showcasing the D’Addario brothers’ soaring vocal abilities.  Watch it in the player below.

Praise for Songs For The General Public

 "It's the Twigs doing Bowie doing Springsteen, and utterly thrilling." - Uncut (9/10)
"A landmark album, unlike any other, that draws from the past, churns it up, modernises it and chucks it into our present with sonic-like energy through sheer effervescing talent." 
The Line Of Best Fit (9/10)  
“They are one of the most exciting new bands I’ve heard this century.”Simon Neil (Biffy Clyro)
"Songs For The General Public astonishes and delights."  - MOJO **** 
“A paean to the past, full of lovelorn warmth, Zombies-on-a-road-trip harmonies and ridiculous piano jams.” - DIY
"A blast from start to finish." - Shindig! **** 
Camp flourishes, post-ironic perkiness and joyful melodies.” - Q ****

The Lemon Twigs - Songs For The General Public

1. Hell On Wheels
2. Live In Favor Of Tomorrow
3. No One Holds You (Closer Than The One You Haven’t Met)
4. Fight
5. Somebody Loving You
6. Moon
7. The One
8. Only A Fool
9. Hog
10. Why Do Lovers Own Each Other?
11. Leather Together
12. Ashamed