4AD home

Bing & Ruth - New Single 'The Pressure Of This Water' By Bing & Ruth Out Now
Bing & Ruth : New Single 'The Pressure Of This Water' By Bing & Ruth Out Now
24th June 2020

Released today, ‘The Pressure Of This Water’ is the third single to be taken from Bing & Ruth’s forthcoming album, Species (out 17 July). 

‚ÄčCheck to see if your local record store is stocking Species here +
You can pre-order Species from the 4AD Store here +

Listen to 'The Pressure Of This Water' on all streaming services here +

‘The Pressure Of This Water’ is released today with visuals created by Michael Speed.

Clocking in at a meditative 10-minutes, Bing & Ruth’s ringleader, David Moore says of ‘The Pressure Of This Water’, “it’s the first song I wrote on my Farfisa, and it’s stuck by me through all the time since. The accompanying visuals here are from Michael Speed who, faced with the impossibility of actually travelling to the desert, chose to collage publicly available stock footage into a video that reflects the arid nature of the track itself.”

Bing & Ruth is the ever-evolving project helmed by New York composer David Moore. The group’s fourth studio album, the 7-track, 49-minute Species, will be released on 17 July. 

While on a surface level, Species is an exploration of the sonic possibilities of the Farfisa organ, aided only by a clarinet and double bass (played respectively by founding members Jeremy Viner and Jeff Ratner), it was inspired by two recent loves of Moore’s: the desert and long-distance running. Briefly relocating from his New York base to Point Dume, between the Pacific Ocean and the desert, Moore was able to indulge in both passions, which in turn provided stimulus for new work. Species is a study of suspended time and trance; not just a steady movement from A to B, but as something that flows, meanders and eddies, like water. Moore says, “I’d found myself in places unfamiliar enough that I could easily lose all sense of direction, size and, more than anything, all sense of time. The music I was making became a kind of reflection of these intentional detachments - and a place to mirror that feeling of trance that had pushed them out in the first place.”

Species Tracklist:

1. Body In A Room
2. Badwater Psalm
3. I Had No Dream
4. Blood Harmony
5. Live Forever
6. The Pressure Of This Water
7. Nearer

Species is released digitally, on CD, standard black vinyl and a limited-edition marble vinyl on 17 July.