4AD home

Purity Ring - 'shrines x'
Purity Ring : 'shrines x'
29th July 2022

Today, in honour of Shrines’ ten-year anniversary, Purity Ring return with a reissue of their breakthrough debut record.  Titled shrines X, the album features three previously unreleased songs from the Shrines sessions, with the lead track 'inovein' perfectly capturing their unique magic – bewitching, eerie vocals dancing uneasily across shimmering electronic haze.  A surprise for fans & perfect intro to new listeners, their influence through 2010’s alt and commercial pop is undeniable.

+ Listen to shrines x here +

As part of the release, the band shared the a lyric video for new track 'inovein'. Available to watch here or in the player below.

Originally released in 2012, Shrines’ eleven tracks trace a unique aesthetic universe that is carefully crafted and fully realized, deftly walking the lines between trap-rap exhilaration and airy 90s R&B, lush dream pop and the powerful, bone-rattling immediacy of modern hip hop. Megan James’ remarkable voice is ecstatic, soaring joyfully through Corin Roddick’s carefully chopped beats, trembling synths, and skewed vocal samples. It's hardly surprising, then, that Shrines feels like anything but a first record.

“Most bands never manage a statement this forceful”
- Pitchfork (BNM)
“An album that represents Purity Ring operating with only their essentials, forging a path that would later define the sound of modern pop”
“Something wonderful”
Rolling Stone

Purity Ring

Purity Ring – shrines x

1 - crawlersout
2 - fineshrine
3 - ungirthed
4 - amenamy
5 - grandloves
6 - cartographist
7 - belispeak
8 - saltkin
9 - obedear
10 - loftcries
11 - shuck
12 - x inovein
13 - x firmament
14 - x crawlersout (prototype)