4AD home

Belly - Remastered Debut LP This July, Plus Live Dates
Belly : Remastered Debut LP This July, Plus Live Dates
19th May 2016

Following her inestimable contributions as a founding member of both Throwing Muses and The Breeders, Tanya Donelly took centre stage to form Belly with brothers Tom and Chris Gorman on guitars and drums respectively and Fred Abong on bass.  Around the release of their debut album Star in 1993, Fred left the band and was replaced by Gail Greenwood.

Among a wave of essential new American guitar acts in the early-90s, it was Belly’s spikey dreampop that helped set them apart.  Catching fire with singles ‘Feed The Tree’ and ‘Gepetto’, Star saw them grab their moment and catapulted them in to the mainstream, selling almost two million copies worldwide and earning them two GRAMMY nominations.  A second album followed in 1995, King, before they called it quits a year later.

Twenty years on and excitingly the latter line-up of Tanya, Tom, Chris and Gail are back and will be performing both albums this summer on tours of the UK, Ireland and North America. Full dates are listed on the band's official website - www.bellyofficial.com/shows.

To complement, 4AD are reissuing Star on vinyl on the 15th of July 2016.  Coming with updated artwork from Chris Gorman and package design by Chris Bigg, the new version is now spread across two LPs, is being pressed on white marbled vinyl and will be presented in a gatefold sleeve.  It will also include a bonus CD of the album.

Star is available to pre-order now from the 4AD store here.  Please note that we are releasing this to the world outside North America, so US customers should note that shipping costs will be higher from our store.

Catalogue Number: DAD 3002
Release Date: July 15th 2016

A1. Someone
A2. Angel
A3. Dusted
A4. Every Word

B1. Gepetto
B2. Witch
B3. Slow Dog
B4. Low Red Moon

C1. Feed The Tree 
C2. Full Moon
C3. White Belly
C4. Untogether

D1. Star
D2. Sad Dress
D3. Stay