4AD home

Various - 'Terrapin Station (Suite)' 12" Released In August
Various : 'Terrapin Station (Suite)' 12" Released In August
22nd June 2016

Day of the Dead - a celebration of the Grateful Dead's music - was released last month via 4AD, and is currently available on 5xCD and through digital retailers.  Now 4AD will release a special limited edition 12" vinyl of the four song 'Terrapin Station (Suite)' on 2nd August.  Featuring members of Grizzly Bear, Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, TV on the Radio's Tunde Adebimpe, Sonic Youth's Lee Ranaldo and Bryce Dessner of The National, you can find the full tracklist and credits below.  The album cover was designed and donated by acclaimed visual artist and Pioneer Works founder, Dustin Yellin.  

You can pre-order the 12" via the 4AD Store here.

Various Artists - Terrapin Station (Suite) 12''
BAD 3632 

A1: 'Terrapin Station (Suite)' — Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and The National (featuring Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, Sō Percussion and Brooklyn Youth Chorus)
B1: 'If I Had the World to Give' — Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy
B2: 'Playing in the Band' — Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends
B3: 'Garcia Counterpoint' — Bryce Dessner

The Grateful Dead's 'Terrapin Station', found on the album bearing the same name, was the first time the Dead unveiled a more symphonic and progressive sound.  In addition to the featured vocalists, Aaron and Bryce Dessner recreated 1977's entire Terrapin Station with the help of Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, Sō Percussion, and the Brooklyn Youth Chorus.  To compliment the full recreation of the 'Terrapin Flyer' section, Bryce Dessner expanded the piece with an additional two minutes of original composition. 

A Day of the Dead live performance will take place this summer at the second annual Eaux Claires Festival (12th - 13th August) featuring Jenny Lewis, Matthew Houck (Phosphorescent), Lucius, Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, Sam Amidon, Richard Reed Parry (Arcade Fire), Matt Berninger, Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Bruce Hornsby, Ruban Nielson (Unknown Mortal Orchestra) and The National, who all appear on the record.

Day of the Dead – a celebration of the Grateful Dead’s music – is out now on 4AD.  The 59 track compilation was created and curated by brothers Aaron and Bryce Dessner of the National.  The album is a wide-ranging tribute to the songwriting and experimentalism of the Dead which took four years to record and features over 60 artists from varied musical backgrounds.  All profits will help fight for AIDS/HIV and related health issues around the world through the Red Hot Organization.

The 10XLP vinyl boxset version of the compilation will be released 9th September, and can be pre-ordered via the 4AD Store from this page, where you can also see a number of photos of the boxed set. 

You can buy Day of the Dead on 5xCD, and pre-order the 10xLP set, here.
You can stream the album on Spotify/Apple Music here.