4AD home

D.D Dumbo - Debut Record 'Utopia Defeated' Out October, New Single 'Walrus'
D.D Dumbo : Debut Record 'Utopia Defeated' Out October, New Single 'Walrus'
17th August 2016

D.D Dumbo’s long-awaited debut LP Utopia Defeated is set for worldwide release on 7 October 2016 via 4AD.  You can now listen to ‘Walrus’, the second single from the album, in the Soundcloud player below, or on the platform of your choice here.

Utopia Defeated is an epic, sprawling opus that sprung from the imagination of Castlemaine’s Oliver Hugh Perry and was written and performed almost entirely by him.  Recorded at 4AD’s London Studios, and recorded, engineered and produced by Perry and 4AD’s resident engineer Fabian Prynn, the 10 track album hurdles effortlessly over the expectations set by his intriguing debut EP.

Lead single ‘Satan’ was named by many as one of the best tracks of the year so far, receiving major support from Annie Mac ("absolute gold, I love it"), Huw Stephens, 6 Music (where it was A-listed), triple j (#1 most played), Beats Music and KCRW.  It peaked at #1 on the Spotify Australia’s Most Viral Chart and The Line of Best Fit said it was “a wholly contagious number… his best work to date.”  Uncut magazine has already heralded Utopia Defeated “a looping, globally attuned 2016 update of Jeff Buckley’s Grace.”

D.D Dumbo’s output stretches back to 2013, when he released his self-recorded debut EP, Tropical Oceans.  Led by the spooky strut of the title-track, the lo-fi four song-set of blues-laced, deconstructed pop, announced Perry as an exciting newcomer fluent in a language all his own.  People took notice.  Performing solo with a 12-string electric guitar, two drums and a bunch of effect pedals, D.D Dumbo made an impression at the 2013 SXSW Music conference.  In the following 12 months he was invited to support the likes of Warpaint, Tune-Yards, St Vincent, Jungle, Iron & Wine, and do live sessions for NPR, Daytrotter and BBC Radio 1.  Soon after D.D Dumbo signed to 4AD, and in 2014 he toured the UK for the first time, supporting both Daughter and Tame Impala.  He played Splendour in the Grass in Australia, and returned to Europe for a handful of dates (including a slot at Pitchfork Paris), as well as a debut tour of the US to much acclaim.

Utopia Defeated, the new album from D.D Dumbo, is available for pre-order in physical and digital formats here
The initial limited LP pressing will be on marbled vinyl, whilst digital pre-orders will receive instant downloads of 'Walrus' and 'Satan'.

D.D Dumbo - Utopia Defeated
CAD 3616

1. Walrus
2. Satan
3. In The Water
4. Cortisol
5. Alihukwe
6. King Franco Picasso
7. The day I first found god
8. Toxic City
9. Brother
10. Oyster