4AD home

Future Islands - People Who Aren't There Anymore
Future Islands: 'People Who Aren't There Anymore'
26th January 2024

Buy now from the 4AD Store
Available on webstore exclusive yellow and black 'yolk vinyl with alternative artwork, standard black LP, CD, and cassette

Future Islands - People Who Aren't There Anymore

The seventh album from the band - Samuel T. Herring (vocals, lyrics), William Cashion (bass, guitars), Gerrit Welmers (keyboards, programming), and Michael Lowry (drums) - follows 2020’s As Long As You Are.  People Who Aren’t There Anymore heralds a new chapter for Future Islands who, despite having formed nearly two decades ago, continue to challenge themselves and each other.

Where they’ve pursued ever-higher energy anthems in the past, they’ve turned inward this time, and unlocked a new level of ferocity, delivering some of their most inspiring and most heartbreaking tracks by doing the opposite: taking their time, making each breath, each syllable, each cymbal crash count.  The result is a powerful, defining statement from a group of musicians that have made the best album of their career.

People Who Aren’t There Anymore was co-produced by Future Islands and Steve Wright, and mixed by Steve Wright and Chris Coady (who returns to working with the band for the first time since 2014’s Singles).